Vseslav Volkov: Russia not for Russians. Why Vladimir Putin is not a Nationalist

There is  common inclination among the right-wingers living outside the countries of the former Soviet Union – which seems absurd  for us (as residents of countries which are firsthand familiar with Putin’s regime) – to imagine Putin’s Russia as the stronghold of “white right conservatism.” Among Putin’s “right-wing friends” in the West, there are many who, alas, went to a conscious cooperation with the Kremlin, in the hope of obtaining political or even financial dividends from it. However, we believe that the bulk of supporters of Putin and modern Russia are people who – for one reason or another – have been deprived of objective information about what is happening in this country, forced to base their assessments on Kremlin sources such as Russia Today, or judging about Russia and Putin on the basis of popular western liberal “horror stories” – giving out wishful thinking. We would like to correct this, and for this we publish a short review from our adherent, a Russian nationalist who lives in this country and has been involved in the activities of the Russian far-right movement for more than 15 years.

 

From the author

Dear readers! With these essay I did not set out to give you an exhaustive picture of Putinism and, in general, of modern Russia – this would require a multivolume fundamental work, supported by even more extensive quantitative research and statistical data. This is only a laconic overview, the purpose of which is to induce those of you who really are interested in Russia and its people and are not indifferent to their destiny, to get acquainted independently with numerous testimonies (which are widely available in open access) about the processes taking place in the country. To facilitate this task you can find a list of references to various sources recommended for you in the text and in the footnotes as well as at the end of the article[1] .

  1. A wrong translation

Correct understanding of what is going on in the modern Russia implies understanding of what it does  constitute. In Russian – unlike English – there is a clear linguistic division of concepts «russki» (ethnic Russian) and «rossijski» (relating to Russia as a state). At the same time, both concepts are translated into English as «Russian», but there is a great difference between them.

According to the Constitution of the Russian Federation, adopted in 1993 (shortly after the shooting of the then parliament from tanks), the state is a federation built on an ethnic basis, which is reflected in the territorial structure: of the 85 regions, 27[2] are “homelands” for ethnic minorities of Russia – thus ensuring the representation of their interests at the state level. “Own” regions are possessed by the Tatars, Chechens, Yakuts, Buryats and many other peoples of Russia.

Where, then, is the “Russian Republic” – a region representing 80% of the population of the whole country? There is no such region, there are only denationalized “krays” and “oblasts”, which are “regions for all”. Maybe there is a state body authorized to defend the rights of Russians at the federal level? Again, no. The federal government represents the interests of all citizens of Russia, regardless of nationality.

In the text of the Constitution of the Russian Federation there is not even a mention of the Russian (in the ethnic sense) people, as in any other law of the Russian Federation.

Thus, ethnic Russians (~ 80% of the country’s population) even legally do not have any relation to the Russian Federation.

In addition, unlike the numerous diasporas who are in constant contact with the Russian authorities at all levels and successfully lobby their interests, there is no one political or public organization in Russia that would officially defend the interests of the Russians as a people. Any attempts by the Russians to create such an organization are suppressed as manifestations of “extremism.”

1) The main advocate of the interests of the Jewish diaspora in Russia; 2) the newspaper of the Azerbaijani diaspora: “We are for Putin. Putin is for us “

 2. Repressions against Russians

Moreover, the very formulation of the question of the rights of ethnic Russians in Russia is fraught with criminal prosecution. Vladimir Putin clearly indicated his position on the “Russian question” yet in the middle of the 2000s, calling the adherents of the slogan “Russia – for Russians”[3] “jerks and provocateurs”[4], and the struggle “with anti-Semitism, like … with any nationalism and chauvinism, – the basis of our domestic policy[5]”. In addition, such slogans as “Russian power for Russia” and even “Russian, do not drink!”, “”Russian” – means “sober”” [6] are officially considered extremist in Russia.

Thousands of Russian citizens – primarily nationalists – are in prison under “political” articles. The article 282 of the Criminal Code (“Raising hatred or enmity, as well as humiliation of human dignity”) has already become a sad symbol of Putin’s totalitarianism, uniting against itself right-wing and left-wing activists, nationalists and liberals.

Is this a mistake of the Putin system, its defect? Definitely not. In a state like Russia, nationalism is one of the mobilizing forces – the forces that can lead the population out of social “dormancy” and motivate them to political struggle for their rights. The purpose of nationalists at this stage is essentially “the emancipation of the Russian people”, which is unthinkable in the autocratic post-Soviet kleptocracy, in a system where everything is decided exclusively “from the top down”, herewith with “individual approach”, by “agreements.” If it is possible for Kremlin to “reach an agreement” with, for example, the ethnocracies of the North Caucasus (who have long recognized themselves as political actors), simply giving them the next multibillion-dollar subsidies from the dwindling Russian budget, then how to negotiate with 120 million Russians across the country? They will have to radically reorganize the entire system, and the Kremlin does not need this at all. The system is afraid to communicate with large, poorly managed masses of people – even if they demonstrate loyalty.

 

 

  1. «Soviet Russia» is an oxymoron

With “historical Russia” – the Russian Empire – the Russian Federation also has nothing in common except the flag and the coat of arms. The RF is the official “continuer” of the USSR [7] – a country built on both worldview negation and the physical destruction of the social order that existed in Russia before 1917.

For 70 years, the Soviet system has often undergone cosmetic transformations, sometimes even borrowing elements of “past life”[8], while the real Russia was either physically destroyed (like millions of Russian peasants, officers, clergymen and intellectuals), or “squeezed” into emigration, or forced to go into deep underground. Here is an incomplete list of crimes committed by the Soviet government: the “Red Terror”, the famine of 1920-21, the genocide of the Cossacks, the repressions against the intellectuals in the late 1920s, the “collectivization” (destruction of the peasantry) and the Holodomor (which took place – in addition to Ukraine – in the Volga region and Kazakhstan), the terror of mid-late 1930s, many war crimes during the World War II, post-war repressions, the post-war famine, the testing of nuclear weapons on its own population in the 1950s, technological catastrophe in Chernobyl and many other. A lot of historical works are devoted to this topic, the most “classical” of which are the “GULAG Archipelago” by A. Solzhenitsyn and the “Black Book of Communism” by S. Courtois.

From the point of view of Russian nationalism, not unimportant is also the national composition of the top of the Bolshevik Party, the backbone of which was composed of Jews (more than half) and Caucasians [9].

The Russian resistance to Bolshevism lasted as long as Bolshevism itself:

  • After the October Revolution of 1917 the White Army, many times inferior to the Red forces in numbers, but a much more motivated, better-quality and better-organized, have “defended Russia from Soviet slavery for 3 years “[10];
  • In the interwar period in the south of Russia, in Siberia and other regions underground resistance groups acted, in Europe – Russian emigrants-anti-communists eliminated Soviet diplomats [11], carried out daring subversive attacks on Soviet territory [12], fought against the “red international” in Spain[13], the emigrant anticommunist movement embraced dozens of thousands of people on several continents – from Paris and New York to Shanghai and Harbin;
  • The Second World War gave the Russian people an unprecedented opportunity to crush the regime that destroyed it, but the ill-conceived and often Russophobian policy of the German leadership, and later – skilfully juggling “Russian patriotic themes” on Stalin’s part, buried this undertaking; nevertheless, according to various estimates, from 1 to 1.5 million Soviet citizens fought on the side of Germany and its allies, of which about a half were Russians, including Cossacks, traditional defense and the support of the Russian statehood (an unthinkable phenomenon in Russian history!), and in Central Russia Russian nationalists managed to create their own autonomy with a population of 581,000 people and, together with the Germans, to resist the gangs of red terrorists[14];

  • After the war, the partisan anti-communist movement fought against the Soviet regime not only in Ukraine and Belarus, but also in the Russian republic of the USSR;
  • The anti-Soviet struggle was fought even by prisoners in the camps of the Gulag;
  • Under Khrushchev and Brezhnev, the struggle within the USSR was clearly declining, taking mainly forms of dissident clubs and youth subcultures, but the struggle of emigrants continued, and cases of their participation were known even in the war against the Soviets in Korea and Vietnam.

I allowed myself to take your time by enumerating these numerous examples so that you would understand: for a Russian nationalist they are the real Russia, unlike the USSR, her slaughterer and usurper.

For your final understanding of how – in the worldview of a Russian nationalist, the right conservative – the Soviet Union and the present-day Russia relate to each other, I cite a few quotations:

  • General P. Krasnov, the hero of the anti-Bolshevik resistance, the Don Ataman: “General Vrangel was not mistaken when he said “Goodbye, Motherland!” and not “Goodbye, Russia!”: Russia and the Russians sailed away with him on ships “;
  • Philosopher I. Ilyin: “The Soviet State is not Russia. This historical and political truth must be understood and felt once and for all and to the end “;
  • Writer B. Shiryaev: “The real Russian is not the Soviet, but the opposite, it is the antithesis to him”;
  • Writer I. Shmelev: “No foreign invasion can be worse for the Motherland than the power of Leninists and Stalinists. The USSR is definitely not Russia, but the enemy of Russia “.

 

[1] Unfortunately most of them are in Russian (but Google Translate is still with us J )

[2] 22 national republics, 4 national autonomous regions, 1 autonomous region

[3] Originally the author of the phrase was the emperor of the Russian Empire Alexander III

[4] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KcFQdLHL_w

[5] http://podrobnosti.ua/206946-putin-prizval-vnimatelno-otnositsja-k-antisemitizmu.html

[6] https://newsland.com/user/4297790089/content/lozung-quotrusskii-ne-peiquot-priznan-ekstremistskim/4552724, https://www.politforums.net/internal/1387181366.html

[7] http://studopedia.ru/7_46265_kontinuitet-v-otnoshenii-prav-i-obyazatelstv-sssr.html

[8] For example, under Stalin, who returned epaulettes and officer ranks to the army, and also partially “rehabilitated” the church. However, it should be understood that this body had no relation to the pre-revolutionary church, being completely under the control of the Soviet special services and often being headed by their employees

[9] http://maxpark.com/user/3121148154/content/2576518

[10] A.Turkul «Drozdovsky under fire» http://www.bookol.ru/dokumentalnaya_literatura_main/biografii_i_memuaryi/148038/str7.htm

[11] http://www.belrussia.ru/page-id-1402.html , http://www.belrussia.ru/page-id-1404.html

[12] http://www.dk1868.ru/history/LARIONOV.htm

[13] http://uriadnik.livejournal.com/54458.html

[14] See the map on the next page

Подобається матеріал? Поділіться ним з друзями у Facebook!

Всеслав Волков: Россия – не для русских. Почему Владимир Путин не является националистом

В среде правых, проживающих за пределами стран бывшего Советского Союза, нередко встречается абсурдное для нас (как жителей стран, не понаслышке знакомых с путинским режимом)  представление о путинской  России как об оплоте «белого правого консерватизма». Среди «правых друзей» Путина на Западе есть немало тех, кто, увы, пошел на осознанное сотрудничество с Кремлем , в надежде получить от этого политические или даже финансовые дивиденды. Однако, мы верим, что основная часть сторонников Путина и современной России – это люди, по той или иной причине лишенные объективной информации о происходящем в этой стране, вынужденные в своих оценках опираться на кремлевские источники типа Russia Today, либо судящие о России и о Путине на основании расхожих западных либеральных «страшилок» и выдающие желаемое за действительное. Мы хотели бы исправить это, и для этого публикуем небольшой обзор от нашего единомышленника, русского националиста, живущего в этой стране и вот уже более 15 лет участвующего в деятельности русского правого движения.

 

 

От автора

Уважаемые читатели! Данным эссе я не ставил задачи дать вам исчерпывающей картины путинизма и в целом современной России – для этого потребовалась бы многотомная фундаментальная работа, подкрепленная еще более обширными количественными исследованиями и статистическими данными. Это лишь лаконичный обзор, цель которого – побудить тех из вас, кому действительно интересна Россия и ее народ и небезразлична их судьба, самостоятельно ознакомиться с многочисленными свидетельствами о происходящих в данной стране процессах, которые в огромном количестве имеются в открытом доступе. Для облегчения данной задачи в тексте и сносках, а также в конце статьи, приведен список ссылок на различные источники, рекомендуемые к ознакомлению[1].

 

  1. Неправильный перевод

Для правильного понимания того, что в настоящее время происходит в современной России, нужно понять, что она из себя представляет. В русском языке, в отличие от английского, есть четкое лингвистическое разделение понятий «русский» (этнически русский) и «российский» (относящийся к России – как к государству). При этом, на английский оба данных понятия переводятся как «Russian», а ведь между ними – почти пропасть.

Согласно Конституции Российской Федерации, принятой в 1993 году (вскоре после расстрела тогдашнего парламента из танков), государство является федерацией, построенной по этническому принципу, который нашел свое отражение в территориальном устройстве: из 85 регионов 27[2] являются «вотчинами» для этнических меньшинств России  – таким образом обеспечивается представительство их интересов на государственном уровне. «Свои» регионы есть у татар, чеченцев, якутов, бурятов и многих других народов России.

Где же в таком случае находится «Русская республика» – регион, представляющий 80% населения всей страны? Такого региона нет, есть лишь денационализированные края и области, которые представляют собой «регионы для всех». Может быть, есть какой-то государственный орган, уполномоченный  отстаивать права русских на федеральном уровне? Опять нет. Федеральная власть представляет интересы всех граждан России, вне зависимости от национальности.

В тексте Конституции РФ нет даже упоминания о русском народе, как и ни в каком другом законе РФ.

Таким образом, этнические русские (~80% населения страны) даже юридически не имеют к Российской Федерации никакого отношения.

Кроме того, в отличие от многочисленных диаспор, которые находятся в постоянном контакте с российской властью на всех ее уровнях и успешно лоббируют свои интересы, в России нет НИ ОДНОЙ политической или общественной организации, которая бы официально отстаивала интересы русских как народа. Любые попытки русских создать подобную организацию пресекаются как проявления «экстремизма».

1) Главный защитник интересов еврейской диаспоры в России; 2) газета азербайджанской диаспоры: «Мы за Путина. Путин – за нас»

  1. Репрессии против русских

Более того, сама постановка вопроса о правах русских в России чревата преследованиями. Владимир Путин еще в середине 2000-х годов четко обозначил свою позицию по «русскому вопросу», назвав приверженцев лозунга «Россия – для русских»[3] «придурками и провокаторами»[4], а борьбу «с антисемитизмом, как и … с любым национализмом и шовинизмом, – основой нашей внутренней политики»[5]. Помимо этого, в РФ официально признаны экстремистскими такие девизы, как «России – русскую власть» и даже «Русский, не пей!», «Русский – значит трезвый»[6] .

Тысячи граждан России – прежде всего националистов – находятся в тюрьмах по «политическим» статьям. Статья 282 УК РФ («Возбуждение ненависти либо вражды, а равно унижение человеческого достоинства») уже стала печальным символом путинского тоталитаризма, объединив против себя как правых, так и левых, как националистов, так и либералов.

Является ли это ошибкой путинской системы, ее недоработкой? Определенно нет. В таком государстве, как Россия, национализм является одной из мобилизующих сил – сил, способных вывести население из социальной «спячки» и мотивировать на политическую  борьбу за свои права. Целеполагание националистов на данном этапе – это по сути «эмансипация русского народа», то есть вещь, немыслимая в автократической пост-советской клептократии, в системе, где все решается исключительно «сверху вниз», причем «адресно», «договоренностями».  Если «договориться», например, с этнократиями Северного Кавказа (давно осознавшими свою политическую субъектность) можно довольно просто – подкинув им очередные многомиллиардные дотации из тощающего российского бюджета, то как договориться со 120 миллионами русских по всей стране? Придется кардинально перестраивать всю систему, а Кремлю этого совсем не нужно. Система боится общаться с большими, плохо управляемыми массами людей – даже если они демонстрируют лояльность.

 

  1. «Советская Россия» – это оксюморон

С «исторической Россией» – Российской империей – РФ также не имеет ничего общего, кроме флага и герба. Российская Федерация является официальным «продолжателем» СССР[7] – страны, построенной как на мировоззренческом отрицании, так и физическом уничтожении того общественного порядка, который существовал в России до 1917 года. За 70 лет советский строй нередко претерпевал косметические преобразования, порой даже заимствуя элементы «прошлой жизни»[8], настоящая же Россия была либо физически уничтожена (как миллионы русских крестьян, офицеров, представителей духовенства и интеллигенции), либо «выдавлена» в эмиграцию, либо была вынуждена уйти в глубокое подполье. Вот неполный перечень преступлений, совершенных Советской властью: «красный террор», голод 1920-21 гг., «расказачивание» (уничтожение казаков), репрессии против интеллигенции в конце 1920-х, «коллективизация» (уничтожение крестьянства) и Голодомор (имевший место, помимо Украины, также в Поволжье и Казахстане), террор середины-конца 1930-х, многочисленные военные преступления во время Второй мировой, послевоенные репрессии, послевоенный голод, испытания ядерного оружия на собственном населении в 1950-х, техногенная катастрофа в Чернобыле и многие другие. Этой теме посвящена масса исторических работ, наиболее «классическими» из которых считаются «Архипелаг ГУЛАГ» А. Солженицына и «Черная книга коммунизма» С. Куртуа.

С точки зрения русского национализма, немаловажен и национальный состав верхушки большевистской партии, костяк которой составляли евреи (более половины) и кавказцы[9].

Русское сопротивление большевизму длилось столько же, сколько и сам большевизм:

  • после октябрьской революции 1917 года многократно уступавшая красным силам в численности, однако гораздо более мотивированная, более качественная в кадровом смысле и лучше организованная Белая армия 3 года «отбивала от советского рабства Россию»[10];
  • в межвоенный период – на юге России, в Сибири и др. регионах действовали подпольные группы сопротивления, в Европе русские эмигранты-антикоммунисты ликвидировали советских дипломатов[11], организовывали дерзкие диверсионные вылазки на советскую территорию[12], воевали против красного интернационала в Испании[13], эмигрантское антикоммунистическое движение охватывало десятки тысяч людей на нескольких континентах – от Парижа и Нью-Йорка до Шанхая и Харбина;
  • Вторая мировая война дала русскому народу неслыханный доселе шанс сокрушить уничтожавший его режим, однако непродуманная и часто русофобская политика германского руководства, а впоследствии – умелое жонглирование «русской патриотической тематикой» со стороны Сталина, похоронили это начинание; тем не менее, только с оружием в руках на стороне Германии и ее союзников воевало, по разным оценкам, от 1 до 1,5 миллионов[14] советских граждан, из которых около половины – русские, в том числе – казаки, традиционная защита и опора российской государственности (немыслимое доселе в русской истории явление!), а в Центральной России русским националистам удалось создать собственную автономию с населением в 581 000 человек и совместно с немцами противостоять бандам красных террористов[15];

  • после окончания войны партизанское антикоммунистическое движение боролось с советской властью не только в Украине и Беларуси, но и в РСФСР;
  • антисоветская борьба велась даже заключенными в лагерях ГУЛАГа;
  • при Хрущеве и Брежневе борьба внутри СССР явно пошла на спад, принимая в основном формы диссидентских клубов и молодежных субкультур, однако продолжалась борьба эмигрантов, известны случаи их участия даже в войне против Советов в Корее и Вьетнаме.

Я позволил себе отнять ваше время, перечисляя эти многочисленные примеры, для того, чтобы вы поняли: для русского националиста именно они – настоящая Россия, в отличие от СССР – ее палача и узурпатора.

Для окончательного понимания того, как соотносятся между собой для русского националиста, правого консерватора, СССР и настоящая Россия, приведем несколько цитат:

  • Генерал П.Н. Краснов, герой антибольшевистского сопротивления, Донской атаман: «Генерал Врангель не обмолвился, когда сказал «Прощай, Родина!», а не «Прощай, Россия!» – Россия и русские уплывали с ним на кораблях»;
  • Философ И.А. Ильин: «Советское государство – не Россия. Эту историческую и политическую истину надо понять и почувствовать раз и навсегда и до конца»;
  • Писатель Б.Н. Ширяев: «Настоящее русское – не советское, а противоположное – антитеза ему»;
  • Писатель И.С. Шмелев: «Никакое иноземное нашествие не может быть для Родины хуже, чем власть ленинцев и сталинцев. СССР – однозначно не Россия, а враг России».

[1] К сожалению, большинство из них – русскоязычные (но Google Translate еще никто не отменял J)

[2] 22 национальные республики, 4 национальных автономных округа, 1 автономная область

[3] изначально автором фразы был император Российской империи Александр III

[4] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KcFQdLHL_w

[5] http://podrobnosti.ua/206946-putin-prizval-vnimatelno-otnositsja-k-antisemitizmu.html

[6] https://newsland.com/user/4297790089/content/lozung-quotrusskii-ne-peiquot-priznan-ekstremistskim/4552724, https://www.politforums.net/internal/1387181366.html

[7] http://studopedia.ru/7_46265_kontinuitet-v-otnoshenii-prav-i-obyazatelstv-sssr.html

[8] Например, при Сталине, вернувшем в армию погоны и офицерские звания, а также частично «реабилитировавшим» церковь. Однако, следует понимать, что никакого отношения к дореволюционной церкви она не имела, будучи полностью подконтрольной советским спецслужбам и зачастую будучи возглавляемой их сотрудниками

[9] http://maxpark.com/user/3121148154/content/2576518

[10] А.В. Туркул «Дроздовцы в огне» http://www.bookol.ru/dokumentalnaya_literatura_main/biografii_i_memuaryi/148038/str7.htm

[11] http://www.belrussia.ru/page-id-1402.html , http://www.belrussia.ru/page-id-1404.html

[12] http://www.dk1868.ru/history/LARIONOV.htm

[13] http://uriadnik.livejournal.com/54458.html

[14] http://www.tsiganok.ru/publications/esmi/doc/478/

[15] См. карту

Подобається матеріал? Поділіться ним з друзями у Facebook!